In this article we will talk in simple and easy language that why there are only six balls in an over of cricket? So let’s know.

Why only six balls in an over of cricket?

Since 1979-80 in international cricket, the practice of six-ball standard overs started all over the world.

Before that there was no such rule nor any rule making body like ICC, so there were four, five and eight ball overs at different times and in different countries.

Till 1889, an over of four balls was used in England. After that the five-ball over was done till 1899. This was followed by a six-ball over in 1900.

In the early years Australia also had a four-ball over. After this, when there was a six-ball over in England. There was also a six-ball over.

But from the season 1922-23, Australia decided to bowl an over of eight balls. 

Australia’s see-saw England also used eight-ball overs for two years in their domestic cricket in 1939. But at that time the Second World War started.

When the regular cricket season resumed in England after the end of World War I, the six-ball over made a comeback.

What was the condition of the rest of the countries?

Talking about South Africa, the eight-ball over was played in South Africa in 1938-39 and again in 1957-58. Similarly, Pakistan had eight-ball overs in 1974-75 and 1977-78. 

Cricket experts believe that the four-ball over was too short. In an attempt to make it bigger, the number reached eight. But 8 has become too big, so I thought that neither 8 nor 4 will be now then 6.

International cricket is governed by the International Cricket Council, which was founded in 1909 by representatives of England, Australia and South Africa.

At that time its name was Imperial Cricket Conference. It was renamed as International Cricket Conference in 1965 and International Cricket Council in 1989 . 

India’s position in cricket

The first cricket club was formed in India in the year 1792, but it got the status of Test cricket in 1932 when it played its first test match with England at Lord’s.

The Indian team was the sixth team in the world to get the status of Test cricket. Prior to that, teams from England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies and New Zealand had this status.