Understanding of Basics of Parliament

In this page, all the articles related to the Basics of Parliament have been compiled in a sequence. Select the article as per your requirement and understand it in simple and easy language. [Read Basics of Parliament in Hindi – Click Here] [Parliament Category]

The Parliament (Sansad Bhavan) in New Delhi is the seat of the Indian Parliament. At a distance of 750 meters from Rashtrapati Bhavan, it is located on Sansad Marg, which runs through Central Vista and is surrounded by the India Gate, the war memorial, the Prime Minister’s office and residence, ministerial buildings and other units. of the Indian government. Its houses are the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, which respectively represent the lower and upper houses of the Indian bicameral parliament.

The Parliament is the highest legislative body in India. The Indian Parliament is made up of the President and the two Chambers: Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People). The President has the power to convene and extend any House of Parliament or to dissolve the Lok Sabha. The Indian Constitution entered into force on January 26, 1950. The first general elections under the new Constitution took place in the year 1951-52 and the first elected Parliament was created in April 1952.

The building was designed by British architects Edwin Lutyens and Herbert Baker and was built between 1921 and 1927. It was inaugurated in January 1927 as the seat of the Imperial Legislative Council. After the end of British rule in India, it passed into the hands of the Constituent Assembly and then the Indian Parliament once the Indian Constitution came into effect in 1950.

Houses: Rajya Sabha (Upper house); Lok Sabha (Lower house)

Seats: 788: 245 Members of Rajya Sabha; 543 Members of Lok Sabha

Founded: 26 January 1950

Speaker of the Lok Sabha: Om Birla, BJP; since 19 June 2019

Lok Sabha next election: May 2024

Lok Sabha voting system: First-past-the-post

Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha: Harivansh Narayan Singh, JDU; since 14 September 2020

Play Online Games

Basics of Election