This article is a compilation of Article 52 as it is. You can read it Hindi and English as well. You can understand it well, that’s why its explanation is also given below, you must read it.

Appeal to readers 🙏
Allow our notification service by clicking on the bell icon so that you can easily get the notification of each new article. Also connect with our social media handles given below and be a part of the latest discussions.
अनुच्छेद 52

If telegram link doesn’t work then search directly on telegram- @upscandpcsofficial

📜 (Article 52)

52. The President of India.—There shall be a President of India.

🔍 Article 52 Explanation

Article 52 to 151 comes under Part V of the Indian Constitution. Part 5 is divided into 5 chapters. The first chapter of this is – Executive.

Articles 52 to 78 come under the executive. And the executive of the union has been discussed under this part. Which is the President, the Vice President, the Council of Ministers and the Attorney General come.

The Prime Minister has not been discussed here under the executive because the Prime Minister is the head of the Council of Ministers.

Remember here that Part 5 of the Constitution is also known as The Union.

Overall, under Part 5 of the Constitution, it comes from Article 52 to Article 151. In this article we are going to understand Article 52;

Article-39 – Constitution of India
Article-21 – Constitution of India

Article 52 – President of India

Article 52 simply says that there shall be a President of India. Why will it happen, how will it happen; This is discussed in detail in the succeeding paragraphs. Here let us understand some basics related to the President

India gained independence from the British on 15 August 1947, but at that time there was no office called President in India. At that time the British crown was in the hands of George VI and he was made the governor-general of India as king or within his dominions.

Earlier, India had the post of Viceroy equivalent to the President and the last Viceroy in India was Lord Mountbatten.

After the creation of the post of Governor-General, Lord Mountbatten became the first Governor-General of India. He held the position from 15 August 1947 to 21 June 1948 and was succeeded by Chakravarti Rajagopalachari, the first and last Indian person to hold the office of Governor-General from 21 June 1948 to 26 January 1950.

After independence, the Constituent Assembly of India under the leadership of BR Ambedkar began the process of drafting an entirely new constitution for the country.

The Constitution of India was finally enacted on 26 November 1949 and came into force on 26 January 1950. And in this new constitution the post of President was created.

The offices of Emperor and Governor-General were replaced by the new office of the President of India. And Dr. Rajendra Prasad was made the first President of India.

Remember , when Dr. Rajendra Prasad became the first President, the first general election was not even held in India, that is why there was no Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha at that time.

After the general elections held in the year 1951-52, gradually members started coming to Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. The interim government was functioning before the general elections. Which was made by the Constituent Assembly itself.

Some facts related to the President of India

The Constitution of India confers on the President the responsibility and authority to protect and safeguard the Constitution of India and its rule of law.

◾Essentially, any action taken by the executive or legislative bodies of the Constitution becomes law only after the assent of the President. The President will not accept any act of the executive or legislature which is unconstitutional.

◾The President of India is the head of the state and the first citizen of India. The President is elected by an electoral college consisting of the elected members of both the Houses of Parliament and the Legislative Assemblies of the States.

◾The President serves for a term of five years and can be re-elected for a second term.

◾The President is the nominal head of the executive. The real head of the executive is the Prime Minister.

◾The President has several important duties and responsibilities, including serving as the Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces, appointing the Prime Minister and other key government officials, and acting as the custodian of the Indian Constitution.

◾The President also has the power to grant pardon, relief and pardon in certain cases.

◾Apart from his official duties, the President also acts as a symbol of national unity and represents India on the international stage.

◾The President often attends cultural and social events, and meets leaders of other countries to promote India’s interests and values.

When the Indian President was elected on 26 January 1950, the Viceroy’s House was converted into the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

◾ The President is bound by the Constitution to act on the advice of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet unless the advice violates the Constitution.

Overall, the President of India plays an important role in the functioning of the Government of India and in shaping the future of the country.

List of presidents of india

1Rajendra Prasad26 Jan 195013 May 1962
2S. Radhakrishnan13 May 196213 May 1967
3Zakir Husain13 May 19673 May 1969
ActingV. V. Giri3 May 196920 July 1969
ActingMo. Hidayatullah20 July 196924 Aug 1969
4V. V. Giri24 Aug 196924 Aug 1974
5Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed24 Aug 197411 Feb 1977
ActingB. D. Jatti11 Feb197725 July 1977
6Neelam Sanjiva Reddy25 July 197725 July 1982
7Zail Singh25 July 198225 July 1987
8R. Venkataraman25 July 198725 July 1992
9Shankar Dayal Sharma25 July 199225 July 1997
10K.R. Narayanan25 July 199725 July 2002
11A.P.J. Abdul Kalam25 July 200225 July 2007
12Pratibha Patil25 July 200725 July 2012
13Pranab Mukherjee25 July 201225 July 2017
14Ram Nath Kovind25 July 201725 July 2022
15Draupadi Murmu25 July 2022Current

So this is Article 52, hope you have understood. To understand other paragraphs, you can use the link given below.

Article-31(b) – Constitution of India
Article-31(a) – Constitution of India
What is Article 52?

Article 52 of the Constitution of India provides for a President of India. The Constitution of India confers upon the President the responsibility and authority to protect and safeguard the Constitution of India and the rule of law thereof.
Read the article to understand in detail;

| Related Article

Hindi ArticlesEnglish Articles
अनुच्छेद 49
अनुच्छेद 51क
Article 49
Article 51A
————-अनुच्छेद 52————–
भारतीय संविधान
संसद की बेसिक्स
मौलिक अधिकार बेसिक्स
भारत की न्यायिक व्यवस्था
भारत की कार्यपालिका
Basics of Parliament
Fundamental Rights
Judiciary in India
Executive in India
—-Article 52—
Disclaimer- Article presented here and its interpretation on the original constitution (latest edition), DD Basu's interpretation on the constitution (mainly) and various scholars of the constitution (whose articles are available in newspapers, magazines and audio-visuals on the Internet) based on. We have just tried to make it interesting and easy to understand.