This article is a compilation of Article 1 as it is. You can understand it well, that’s why its explanation is also given below, you must read it. Its explanation is also available in Hindi, for this you can use the link given below;

Appeal - Allow our notification service by clicking on the Bell icon so that you can easily get the notification of each new article. Also join our social media handles and be a part of the latest discussions;
Article 1
📌 Join YouTube📌 Join FB Group
📌 Join Telegram📌 Like FB Page
📖 Read This Article in Hindi

📜 Article 1

1.  Name and territory of the Union
(1) India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of States
1[(2) The States and the territories thereof shall be as specified in the First Schedule]
(3) The territory of India shall comprise,
(a) The territories of the States;
2[(b) the Union territories specified in the First Schedule; and]
(c) such other territories as may be acquired.

📜 Amendments !

1. Substituted by the Constitution (Seventh Amendment) Act, 1956, s. 2, for clause (2).

2. Substituted by the Constitution (Seventh Amendment) Act, 1956, s. 2, for sub-clause (b).

🔍 Explanation

As we know our constitution is divided into 22 parts. There are 4 articles in the first part of this and article 1 is its first article. We can see that there are total three provisions under Article 1. Out of which its first provision says that ‘India that is Bharat shall be Union of states’.

The first provision has two important words – “India ie Bharat” and “Union of States”.

The question may come in your mind that why India means Bharat is written in the constitution, only India or why only Bharat is not written.

Actually the reason for this is ideological differences. When the constitution was being made, some people of the Constituent Assembly who gave more importance to the traditionalist ideology; Wanted to name the country Bharat because this name represented our rich tradition.

On the other hand, some people of progressive ideology wanted to name the country India because according to them this name was a symbol of a new and modern India.

HV Kamath, a member of the Constituent Assembly, was in favor of keeping the main name of the country as Bharat. At the same time, another member of the Constituent Assembly, Seth Govind Das, while quoting Vedas-Puranas etc., tried to establish that this country has always been known as Bharat. He recommended the use of “bharat known as India in foreign country” instead of India that is Bharat.

There was a lot of bickering on this issue, finally it was decided to vote and that is why in Article 1 ‘India ie Bharat’ is written. Remember here that the word Hindustan has not been used in the constitution.

One of the meanings of ‘India i.e. Bharat’ is that what we call India is actually nothing but Bharat. The meaning of saying is that the main name is Bharat.

Meaning of ‘Union of states’

Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar said the following two things while explaining the meaning of Union of states or Indian Union-

First – The Indian Union is not the result of an agreement between the states like the American Union.

And second – Indian states have no right to secede from the Indian Union.

You can understand the meaning of union in the same way as a part of the body. For example, we cannot separate the hand from the body because it is not attached to the outside but is automatically attached to the inside.

This is not so in the case of America because there different provinces have come together to form the American Federation. Rather, India was already in existence, due to some reasons many of its provinces seemed to be separate, but they were connected from inside. From outside it was simply accepted.

[For specific information you read Indian Federal System]

| 2. Talking about the second provision of Article 1, it has been said that the states and their territories will be those which are mentioned in Schedule 1. That is, if you want information about all the states and union territories, then you should check Schedule 1.

| 3. Coming to the third provision of Article 1, the territory of India shall not only include the territories of all the States and Union Territories, but also those territories which shall become part of India, which shall be acquired by the Government.

In other words, if the Government of India acquires new land, it will also be a part of India and the map will change accordingly. For example, Goa, which was not a part of the Indian Union at the time of independence, was later incorporated into the Indian Union.

So all in all this is article 1, hope you understand. To understand other articles, you can use the link given below.

| Related Article

Hindi ArticlesEnglish Articles
⚫ अनुच्छेद 2
⚫ अनुच्छेद 3
⚫ अनुच्छेद 4
⚫ Article 2
⚫ Article 3
⚫ Article 4
⚫ Constitution
⚫ Basics of Parliament
⚫ Fundamental Rights
⚫ Judiciary in India
⚫ Executive in India
⚫ Constitution
⚫ Basics of Parliament
⚫ Fundamental Rights
⚫ Judiciary in India
⚫ Executive in India
Disclaimer - The articles and their interpretations presented here are based on the original Constitution (latest edition), DD Basu's commentary on the Constitution (mainly) and various scholars of the Constitution (whose writings are available in newspapers, magazines and audio-visuals on the Internet). We have just tried to make it interesting and easy to understand.